Nursery updates.

July 6, 2011

Plants are growing very well this summer. Kevin, who is our new nursery assistant, is putting out plenty of water and the plants are responding well to his care. I’ve just come back from a week in the Adirondacks where I have a collection of conifers and other interesting plants. I’ll share some of the progress these trees are making. In a few weeks, I leave for my annual trip to Oregon, where I hunt down new plants that will perform in our climate. Remember to get me a list of any hard to find plants you are looking for and I’ll keep my eye out for them on my trip. We’ve had mixed success with this year’s brood of peachicks. The mother peahen hatched 5 eggs and after they were moved into a larger building as they grew, a small opossum found its way in and devoured three chicks before I heard the ruckus ( at 3 am). The two surviving chicks are doing well and now spend the nights on the roof of the house with their mother where they are quite safe.

Leave a Reply

