Update on freeze

March 30, 2011

It looks like we got through the previous nights low temps without much damage. It got to 29 for an hour or so. In the past I have stated that I felt 28 degrees without wind does much damage. Maybe that one degree makes a difference. The weeping Japanese sophoras don’t look too good. I hope the stress of the freeze doesn’t attract ambrosia beetle which can be a fatal problem. Only time will tell. In a low lying field there was a little damage but much less than I expected. In a few days, I’ll be able to assess if the relatively little damage is indeed true. I try to remind myself that Mother nature gives as well as takes away.

Leave a Reply

