Brown Bat

March 19, 2010

Brown bat on Acer palmatum 'Tobiosho'

Little Surprises. One of the things I appreciate most about being involved in a nursery is that quite frequently you encounter what I call ‘little surprises’. It can be a newly developing flower spike on a yet un bloomed orchid, or in this case, spotting a little brown bat. Actually, it was a visitor to the nursery that first spotted this fascinating creature. At first, we weren’t sure it was alive, until we could watch its respiration. Over the past four days, the bat has perched on the same twig, on the tree. Today, it moved over about 4 ft and is on a different tree.

3 Responses to “Brown Bat”

  1. Arthur said

    Amazing aren’t they?

  2. Evelyn Janosik said

    Hi John,

    I enjoyed all of your spring pictures. I never tire of finding what I call little miracles in the garden. I see you enjoy them too.

    Hope all is well. I am still struggling with starting cuttings of my deep purple magnolia. Any tips?

    Many thanks. Evelyn

    Evelyn

    • archtrees1 said

      Evelyn: Thanks for your comment. Gardening brings you outside, where all the exciting things are happening. I wish I could give you some thoughts on rooting magnolia. I have difficulty too with them.
      John

Leave a Reply

